Grain and beef producer to receive 2013 Farrer Memorial Medal | My Machinery
CASE Agriculture
Grain and beef producer to receive 2013 Farrer Memorial Medal

The Farrer Memorial Medal for 2013 will be presented to Mr Andrew Inglis AM in recognition of his outstanding contribution to agricultural science in Australia, Farrer Memorial Trust Chairman and Director General Department of Primary Industries Dr Richard Sheldrake AM announced today.

“Mr Inglis is a successful grain and beef producer and has made a significant national and international contribution to the Australian grains industry through agricultural research and to Australia’s quarantine policies,” Dr Sheldrake said.

“Mr Inglis is the current Presiding Member of the South Australian Natural Resource Management Council, Chairman of the Future Farm Industries Cooperative Research Centre, and Chair of the Biosecurity Advisory Council.

“He is the former Deputy Chairman of the Quarantine Export Advisory Council and contributed significantly to Australia’s quarantine and biosecurity arrangements in the 1996 Nairn Review ‘Australian Quarantine a shared responsibility’ and the 2008 Beale Review ‘One Biosecurity: a working partnership’.

“To support grains research and development Mr Inglis has chaired a wide variety of Australia’s grain and agricultural industry bodies including Plant Health Australia, the CSIRO Stored Grain Research Council and the Grains Research and Development Corporation.”

Dr Sheldrake said in 1996 Mr Inglis was South Australia’s Farmer of the Year.

“For twelve years Mr Inglis had represented Australia as a delegate to the International Federation of Agricultural Producers (IFAP) and was Vice Chairman of the IFAP Group on Grains for six years,” Dr Sheldrake said.

“He has also formerly chaired the Grains Council of Australia and the National Farmers Federation Trade Committee.”

Dr Sheldrake said the Farrer Memorial Medal presentation ceremony will be held on 7 August at the Australian National Library in Canberra to coincide with Canberra’s centenary celebrations and the CSIRO/DPI Science Symposium, when Mr Inglis will give the 2013 Farrer Memorial Oration.

“This year’s presentation brings us near to the place where the first Farrer Memorial Oration was given by the Prime Minister of Australia, the Rt Hon Joseph Lyons MP held at the Star Theatre in Queanbeyan in 1936,” Dr Sheldrake said.

The Farrer Memorial Medal is awarded annually to perpetuate the memory of William James Farrer, a plant breeder, in recognition of distinguished service in agricultural science in Australia in the fields of research, education, or administration.

The medallists are chosen by Trustees of the Farrer Memorial Research Scholarship Fund, which was established in 1911.

Share this:

CASE Agriculture